Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Forestry Merit Badge

Forestry Merit Badge
To obtain a merit badge for Forestry a scout must:

1. Be able to identify twenty-five kinds of trees when in leaf, or fifteen kinds of deciduous (broad leaf) trees in winter, and tell some of the uses of each.
2. Identify twelve kinds of shrubs.
3. Collect and identify samples of ten kinds of wood and be able to tell some of their uses.
4. Determine the height, and estimate the amount of timber, approximately, in five trees of different sizes.
5. State laws for transplanting, grafting, spraying, and protecting trees.

No comments:

Post a Comment